Uganda
Promotion of Renewable Energy Use in Uganda (ProREU)

Electrification of the Lango Sub-Region

Within the ProREU project, 50 young women and men are being trained at the Uganda Technical College Lira (UTC-Lira) to become Solar Extension Agents (SEAs) so that they can carry out installations and maintenance of solar systems. The project aims to sustainably support the electrification of the Lango sub-region in northern Uganda and strengthen the solar market in the region. In addition, the SEAs are to reduce the scepticism towards solar energy among the population.

  • Total Volume: 153,571 €
  • Duraion: 1 October 2020 to 31 August 2022
  • Project region: Lango Sub-Region, Northern Uganda
  • Project partner: Action for Child Social and Economic Transformation (ACSET)

Supported by Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Status quo of the Solar Market in Uganda

Due to insufficient energy supply, access to and use of modern technologies in Uganda is still below 20 %. With an electrification rate of 7 % in rural areas, large parts of the rural population are still dependent on kerosene, which is both harmful to health and expensive. This is particularly true in northern Uganda where the project is situated. There is a lack of technical and institutional capacity in the public and private sector to manage solar energy systems, as well as a lack of technical skills in installation and maintenance. Many of the solar power systems installed in schools and health systems do not work because most solar users do not have access to repair and maintenance services. Another factor hindering the development of Uganda's solar sector is the lack of statistical, freely available data on existing systems and on areas without solar energy systems. This also limits the availability of qualified technical support in many communities in northern Uganda.

The “Promotion of Renewable Energy Use in Uganda (ProREU)” project addresses these challenges and comprises two measures:

 

Ausbildung im Bereich Solartechnik
Classroom Practical Session (SEAs Training at UTC-Lira) Copyright: ACSET

1. Training

In cooperation with the Uganda Technical College Lira (UTC-Lira), trainers are being trained to teach with the NVTI Solar Curriculum of the Nakawa Vocational Training Institute.  As part of the project, the trainers train 50 young electricians to become Solar Extension Agents (SEAs). Through the course, they learn how to install and maintain solar systems and act as multipliers of the acquired knowledge. Through internships with local private solar companies, the SEAs deepen their skills with practical experience. In order to link the SEAs in the long term, a SEA network is established, which takes on a variety of tasks in the Lango sub-region. It is responsible for the installation and maintenance as well as the mapping of solar plants (see Point 2) and is in dialogue and cooperation with private solar companies.

2. Mapping

The trained SEAs will map the Lango sub-region to document existing systems and areas without solar energy systems. To do this, they will travel through the different districts of the region and enter all systems and their condition into a database linked to a map. In addition, they record the non-existence of systems there. As this information will be publicly available, the maintenance of the systems will be simplified, and private solar companies will be able to better assess the market in the region.

Voices from the Project:

I was in position to learn a lot of new things such as system sizing and maintenance, mounting a solar panel which is supposed to be done according to the sun direction. I also intend to educate the community on how to install solar systems in the proper ways because I have noticed a lot of people doing it the wrong way in order to get quick money which puts the lives of the users in danger.
Ocan Innocent from the Abok Sub-County, Oyam District, about his SEA Training

The project is implemented by the URBIS Foundation together with the Ugandan NGO Action for Child Social and Economic Transformation (ACSET) Uganda. The project is supported by Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

Uganda
Promotion of Renewable Energy Use in Uganda (ProREU)

Elektrifizierung der Lango Teilregion

Innerhalb des ProREU Projekts werden am Uganda Technical College Lira (UTC-Lira) 50 junge Frauen und Männer zu Solar Extension Agents (SEAs) ausgebildet, damit sie Installationen und Wartungen von Solaranlagen durchführen können. Das Projekt soll die Elektrifizierung der Lango Teilregion im Norden Ugandas nachhaltig unterstützen sowie den Solarmarkt der Region stärken. Außerdem soll die Skepsis gegenüber Solarenergie in der Bevölkerung durch die SEAs reduziert werden.

  • Gesamtvolumen: 153.571 €
  • Laufzeit: 1. Oktober 2020 bis 31. August 2022
  • Projektregion: Lango Teilregion, Norduganda
  • Projektpartner: Action for Child Social and Economic Transformation (ACSET)

Gefördert durch die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Status quo des Solarmarktes in Uganda

Aufgrund der unzureichenden Energieversorgung liegt der Zugang zu und die Nutzung von modernen Technologien in Uganda immer noch unter 20 %. Bei einer Elektrifizierungsrate von 7 % auf dem Land, sind immer noch große Teile der ländlichen Bevölkerung auf Kerosin angewiesen, welches sowohl gesundheitsschädliche Auswirkungen hat als auch hohe Kosten verursacht. Dies trifft auch besonders auf Norduganda zu, wo das Projekt arbeitet. Es fehlt an technischen und institutionellen Kapazitäten im öffentlichen und privaten Sektor, um Solarenergiesysteme zu verwalten, sowie an technischen Fähigkeiten in Bezug auf Installation und Wartung. Viele der in Schulen und im Gesundheitssystem installierten Solarstromanlagen funktionieren nicht, da die meisten Solarnutzer*innen keinen Zugang zu einem Reparatur- und Wartungsservice haben. Ein weiterer Faktor, der die Entwicklung des ugandischen Solarsektors behindert, ist das Fehlen von statistischen, frei zugänglichen Daten über bestehende Systeme und über Gebiete ohne Solarenergiesysteme. Dies schränkt auch die Verfügbarkeit von qualifizierter technischer Unterstützung in vielen Gemeinden Nordugandas ein.

An diesen Herausforderungen setzt das Projekt „Promotion of Renewable Energy Use in Uganda (ProREU)" an und umfasst zwei Maßnahmen:

 

 

Ausbildung im Bereich Solartechnik
Unterricht im Klassenzimmer (SEAs-Schulung am UTC-Lira) Copyright: ACSET

1. Ausbildung

In Kooperation mit dem Uganda Technical College Lira (UTC-Lira) werden Trainer*innen ausgebildet, um mit dem NVTI Solar Curriculum des Nakawa Vocational Training Institute zu unterrichten. Im Rahmen des Projekts bilden die Trainer*innen 50 junge Elektriker*innen zu Solar Extension Agents (SEAs) aus. Diese erlernen durch den Kurs die Installation und Wartung von Solaranlagen und agieren als Multiplikator*innen des erworbenen Wissens. Durch Praktika bei lokalen privaten Solarunternehmen vertiefen die SEAs ihre Fähigkeiten mit praktischen Erfahrungen. Um die SEAs langfristig zu verknüpfen, wird ein SEA-Netzwerk etabliert, welches eine Vielzahl von Aufgaben in der Lango Teilregion übernimmt. So ist es für Installation und Wartung sowie dem Mapping von Solaranlagen verantwortlich (siehe Punkt 2) und steht im Dialog und Kooperation mit privaten Solarunternehmen.

2. Mapping

Die ausgebildeten SEAs werden die Lango Teilregion ‚mappen‘, um bestehende Systeme und Gebiete ohne Solarenergiesysteme zu dokumentieren. Dazu reisen sie durch die verschiedenen Distrikte der Region und tragen alle Systeme und deren Zustand genau in eine Datenbank ein, die mit einer Karte verknüpft ist. Zusätzlich halten sie das Nichtvorhandensein von PV-Systemen online fest. Da diese Informationen öffentlich zugänglich sein werden, wird die Instandhaltung der Anlagen vereinfacht und private Solarunternehmen werden den Markt der Region besser einschätzen können.

Stimmen aus dem Projekt:

Ich konnte viel Neues lernen, z. B. über die Dimensionierung und Wartung von PV-Systemen und die Montage von Solarmodulen, die entsprechend der Sonnenausrichtung erfolgen muss. Ich habe auch vor, die Allgemeinheit darüber aufzuklären, wie man Solarsysteme richtig installiert, denn ich habe festgestellt, dass viele Leute es falsch machen, um schnelles Geld zu verdienen, was das Leben der Nutzer in Gefahr bringt.
Ocan Innocent aus Abok Sub-County, Oyam District, über seine SEA-Ausbildung

Das Projekt wird von der URBIS Foundation gemeinsam mit der ugandischen NGO Action for Child Social and Economic Transformation (ACSET) Uganda umgesetzt. Das Projekt wird von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) gefördert.